That time Washington Nationals’ Lane Thomas forgot the rules … or did not know…


Lane Thomas took off from first base on an Alcides Escobar drive to right-center area in Nationals Park, with nobody out, and was round second, headed for third base, when the ball was caught in entrance of the warning observe. Thomas placed on the brakes, and hesitated, frozen for only a second within the grime round second base, then hustled again towards first, understanding he needed to beat a hasty retreat, however he uncared for to the touch second on the best way again, so the New York Mets’ defenders have been capable of throw it in and step on second base for the out. Not nice.

Did Thomas, a 26-year-old, 2014 draft pick of highschool with seven minor league and three main league seasons on his resume actually not know he needed to contact second once more after passing it earlier than returning to first base?

“Simply not re-tagging the bottom, that’s one thing that’s taught throughout within the minor leagues,” Nats’ skipper Davey Martinez informed reporters when requested in regards to the play after the sport, “however he understood, and in that scenario proper there, with no outs, you don’t even must go that far. For those who get to 3rd base, there’s nonetheless no outs, , if the man bobbles the ball within the outfield, it will get away from him, he can rating simple along with his velocity.

“That’s one thing that I talked to him about straight away.”

So, to be clear, as Martinez reiterated after one other baserunning gaffe by Thomas only a few days later, no, the outfielder who was acquired from St. Louis in a commerce deadline deal, didn’t know he needed to contact up at second base earlier than returning to first.

“It’s type of bizarre, actually, as a result of he’s performed loads,” Martinez defined, “… and he’s come from a very good group [in the Cardinals] that actually hones in on fundamentals, and understanding the sport, and while you discuss to him, he didn’t notice that it’s important to retouch the bottom. He thought when you contact it, you’re good.

“I used to be type of shocked by it. However we defined to him when you go previous the bottom, you’ve obtained to retouch to come back again to first base.”

However after that, he completely obtained it.

“He will get it,” Martinez stated. “So long as it occurred, it occurred as soon as, if it reoccurs, then we’ve got a difficulty.”

Commentary: It wasn’t Nook Logan unhealthy, nevertheless it was not an excellent look.

Share:

Leave a Reply

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings