Bucs Announce 2022 Ed Block Courage Award Winner

The Bucs have introduced that tight finish O.J. Howard was chosen because the group’s 2021 Ed Block Braveness Award Winner. Howard was chosen in a vote by his teammates. The fifth-year tight finish overcame a season-ending Achilles harm in 2020 to return to motion this season. Howard has had his struggles on the sector, however has been a top-tier particular person whereas taking part in for the Bucs.

Per the Buccaneers launch:

“Ed Block Braveness Award recipients symbolize professionalism, nice power and dedication, along with being group function fashions. Annually, the award honors these NFL gamers who exemplify commitments to the rules of sportsmanship and braveness. This award is exclusive in that the recipients are chosen solely by a vote of their teammates.”

Final 12 months, guard Ali Marpet was granted the award. In 2019, former sort out Demar Dotson was honored.

Bucs TE O.J. Howard – Photograph by: Cliff Welch/PR

Howard regarded like he was on his approach to a stellar season in 2020 earlier than tearing his achilles in Week 4. In lower than 4 full video games, Howard caught 11 passes for 146 yards and two touchdowns. Sadly, Howard struggled to regain that very same type in 2021. He caught solely 14 passes for a career-low 135 yards and one landing.

At simply 27 years outdated, Howard is presently slated to hit free company this offseason. However he’ll want to indicate groups he’s totally wholesome, able to recovering his former explosiveness. The Bucs worth Howard’s character and selflessness, however it could be a shock to see him return in 2022.

In a terrific press launch, the Buccaneers detailed Howard’s many off-field contributions to the group.


Leave a Reply

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings